Home > Rants, TV Shows > I’ve Had My Fill of Rape for One Show, Thanks

I’ve Had My Fill of Rape for One Show, Thanks

About a month ago, I decided to start watching this British show called Misfits. The premise is perfect for my interests: a bunch of juvenile delinquents get superpowers in a freak storm. And with the first episode I was hooked! I talked it up to my friends, I marathoned the first series, and just generally got excited about the characters.

And now, at the last episode of the second series (barring the Christmas special), I’m throwing my hands up and walking away.

Don’t get me wrong: this show has had its problems from the very beginning. Alisha’s power has always been a fucking train wreck. Basically, every character gets a power based on some character trait, usually an insecurity. Kelly is consumed with what people think about her, so she is able to read minds. Simon is an outcast and can turn invisible. Curtis made a huge mistake that ruined his career as an athlete, so can turn back time when he feels regret. So far so good. Alisha’s power? When she touches men, they are consumed with violent lust towards her. I fucking wish I was joking. Alisha used to use sex to get what she wanted in life—this is illustrated by a ridiculously bad scene where she recounts how she tried to get out of a parking ticket by sucking on a bottle or something—and now she’s having to “re-evaluate” the way she deals with the opposite sex. It is literally punishing a girl’s promiscuous behavior with rape.

Now I know what you’re thinking: why, Oddrid, why did you stick with the series after this was revealed? Why didn’t you just turn off the TV then? Well, I guess I thought that since the show seemed to be good otherwise, maybe they were using this power to eventually talk in an interesting and meaningful way about sexuality? And anyway, the other female character is really compelling to me so maybe there will be some female bonding or something?

Misfits: “no lol”

I have given this show so many tries, but it has constantly disappointed me. The writers seem to have realized what a train wreck Alisha’s power was, so they have just not even dealt with it this season. Honestly, I think she’s used it once. Which is great because that power is fucking disgusting, but awful because that’s just terrible writing. Kelly has barely been in the episodes—she pops up to say something chavvy and then disappears into the background. They introduced a new girl character too, which was initially exciting, but so far she has only existed to be fucked by one of the guys. And I’m not even going to get started on the guys right now (oh god Simon… that is the subject for a whole other rant that I am not even ready for right now).

Episode 6 wasn’t the worst Misfits episode, but it was just so depressingly bad that I’m giving it up. It persists down story lines that I do not like (Alisha and Simon’s “romance”, gag me with a fucking spoon) and sucking the life out of characters I used to enjoy (Nathan is disgusting this episode, and Kelly and Curtis are barely in it at all).

I suppose I’m more disappointed than anything. Misfits should have been a great show, but instead the actors’ talents, and my time, have been completely wasted.

Categories: Rants, TV Shows Tags: , ,
  1. Hannah
    December 22, 2010 at 10:03 AM

    Does this mean she can never touch men? Or have a relationship that builds slowly? High five? SEX!

    The only time I have seen a similar thing was in the Wizards First Rule where the female lead could make men fall in love by touching them. But her power is optional she has to choose to use it or not. But it was more like the men became slaves and lost their personality. And the book addressed the loneliness and fear that power caused.

  2. December 22, 2010 at 10:22 AM

    Yeah she can never touch men, because they will raep her!! Also there’s this really bad Rogue rip-off thing where she can’t touch her boyfriend, because then they will have mad sex but he won’t remember it! Or something. It’s so fucking stupid.

    The loneliness and fear it causes in Misfits is addressed, of course, but I can’t get over the fact that it’s directly related to the fact that she used to ~use her sexuality~, and now she’s being punished for being a sexual object. I mean what in the fuck people.

    • Hannah
      December 23, 2010 at 7:56 PM

      yea that is pretty sick. You used to use sex! NOW IT USES YOU!!! HAHAHAHAHA oh wait that wasn’t funny?… crap we already aired it…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment